About us – Academic Partners

The Institute of Chemical Engineering and High Temperature Chemical Processes (ICE-HT) was established in 1984, as an Independent Academic Institute. In 1987 ICE-HT became one of the founding Institutes of FORTH (Foundation for Research and Technology, Hellas). FORTH comprises seven Research Institutes ( 4 in Heraklion, 1 in Rethymno, 1 in Patras and 1 in Ioannina), and reports directly to the General Secretariat for Research and Technology (GSRT) of the Ministry of Development. The seven Research Institutes of FORTH cooperate creatively as an integrated network for RTD.

The University of Patras is at the forefront when it comes to research, both basic, advanced and applied has been heavily involved in many international projects in the area of research from the beginning.
Research plays a prominent role in creating the atmosphere of intellectual stimulation in which students and academic staff can be motivated and remain at the frontiers of current achievement in their respective fields. The teaching and research activities of a department or a sector may be grouped and concentrated in even smaller operational, not academic units, the laboratories or clinics in the case of Medicine. In its 112 laboratories that boast extensive equipment and facilities, research is conducted by students and teaching staff members. Apart from regular teaching and research activities, the laboratories are the focal points for the creation of national and international research consortia.

Founded in 1898, Northeastern University is a private research university located in the heart of Boston, and a leader in interdisciplinary research, urban engagement, and the integration of classroom learning with real-world experience. Its signature cooperative education program, one of the largest and most innovative in the world, is ranked among the best in the nation by U.S. News & World Report. Northeastern offers a comprehensive range of undergraduate and graduate programs leading to degrees through the doctorate in six undergraduate colleges, eight graduate schools, and two part-time divisions.